ZombieSmith Forum Index ZombieSmith

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

To Quar or...

View previous topic :: View next topic  
steelydan

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 5:10 am    Post subject: To Quar or... Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

I'm another newbie (I've done a search and there seems to be a bunch of them, must be catching!).

I'm new to Quar, Zombiesmith and all things tabletop wargaming. I used to collect and paint Warhammer figures about 20 years ago but never got into the gaming side.

I recently came across ZombieSmith via a tortuous route through youtube watching How it's made videos, leading on to aluminium moulding and finally gaming miniature casting videos and decided I wanted to start painting figures again. Then when I found the site I decided I wanted to actually play the game as well.

This leads me onto my real question, as a 100%, never rolled a die, complete beginner what would I need to start with to get a game rolling with a friend or two?

I'm quite interested in Quar but I also like the idea of the War of Ashes series (maybe ShieldBash as a starting point?).

I'd have to purchase enough figures for the complete game in the first instance but I'm pretty certain I'll have a few converts quite soon.

I look forward to your views and help,
Cheers
Dan (from the UK)
Billbartlett45

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the wonderful slippery slope of gaming. All you really need to get into the Quar is a skirmish starter set. It comes with all four rule books on CD and enough figures to get started with Song of Our Ancestors. From there you can build up to This Quars War. The minis are a joy to paint and, IMHO, the background is as compelling as Warhammer. Enjoy... Very Happy
paint monkey